London Part 2 – The Lord Mayor’s Show

The Lord Mayor’s Show is an annual event in London it is one of the best known and longest running events in London; apparently dating back to the 16th Century. Which I now, after seeing it, think is pretty cool.
When my Mum first told me she had booked seats, I was 1. Relieved she got seats cos standing for that long would be annoying. 2. Less than enthusiastic. My standards were low, I was dreading being out in the cold November weather for hours! However in hindsight I think I was a bit too harsh on the magnificent parade I was going to see. I was completely unaware of how much of a big deal it is.

#Lordmayorsshow2014 #london 👑🎩

A post shared by Eleanor Welsh 🐘 (@smellwelsh) on

When I got there in my seat, all settled waiting for it to start it was raining slightly. I thought oh god I’m gunna be wet AND cold. But to be honest, when it started I was too busy waving and clapping to even think about how numb my toes were getting.

I think It is truly amazing that each year a new mayor is appointed and the city of London CLOSE ROADS (which is a big deal in such a busy city) for this parade. Marching bands, huge floats, all different types of the Special Forces that serve our country were in this parade. I got a bit emotional if I’m honest, it was just so wonderful to see all these people who do things for me, being recognised. Especially when I was sat outside St Pauls and the choir boys sang to the new mayor, tears were streaming down my face (which I passed off to my parents as watering eyes, I don’t want them thinking I have emotions).

If you’re ever in London when the show is going to be on, I really recommend going, it was fantastic. I mean how often do you get to see a parade featuring a golden carriage? It’s free if you stand but if of course you’re lazy and small like me, the paid seats are really a godsend. I mean

#Lordmayorsshow2014 #london 👑🎩

A post shared by Eleanor Welsh 🐘 (@smellwelsh) on

2 responses to “London Part 2 – The Lord Mayor’s Show

  1. Wow it sounds like an amazing event! I would love to attend a parade in a big city like London but I would have to pay for a seat because, like you, I’m also small and lazy hahah 😀 I also find it crazy that it dates back to the 16th century and is still going strong!

    PS. I’ve nominated your blog for the Liebster Award 🙂 you can find out all the details and see the rules here: http://velvet-lilies.blogspot.co.uk/2014/11/liebster-award.html x

Leave a Reply

