The Daily Face // Summer in the City

The Daily Face: 25 Makeup Looks for Day, Night, and Everything In Between!

The title of the book says it all! Annamarie Tendler has created an easy step by step/picture by picture book of make-up looks for literally every occasion. The book has day time, night time and even fancy dress and Halloween make-up. A lot of people that are interested in make-up know who Annamarie Tendler is from her make-up blog am. and from her make-up artist looks.

I’ve had this book little over a year and used it for tips many times. In the front of the book there is a lot of brilliant tips regarding brushes, eyeliner (and how to do it!) and even curling lashes to the best they can be. One of her biggest tips is that less is more – and since I don’t really like to wear a load of make-up, it’s really a good book for me to refer to.

I love the specific look in the daytime section called, Summer in the City. I thought I could share with you all what products from my make-up collection I would use to create the look (or as similar as I can get it).

summer in the c

As you can see it’s really simple, light, natural make-up; which is something I really love.

DSCF0977

As a base I’d use my Dr Jart Water Fuse BB Cream, it’s my favourite base and its incredibly light with a dewy finish (and hydrating for my skin), it wears well during the day and has an SPF of 25! I would apply with either my fingers or my Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. If I needed some concealing I’d use my L’Oreal True Match concealer, which I really love since it isn’t heavy and doesn’t tend to dry out my under eyes as much as some others do.

DSCF0982

I couldn’t decide between two blushers so I put them both there; the W7 Honey Queen blusher is a peachy, glowy blusher with a hint of highlight so it’s perfect for a dewy look in the summer, the other is my No7 Pop and Glow blusher in Watermelon which is a dark pink cream blusher that can achieve a naturally flushed look. Of course if you want to add highlight, then you can go right ahead.

For eyes, I would comb through my brows and apply some brow powder if needed and curl my lashes using my eyelash curlers (twice for extra voomph) and then two coats of my ALL TIME favourite mascara the Seventeen Falsifye HD Mascara, I use the shade brown/black because of my fair hair I sometimes think that black can be a bit bold and look heavy.

DSCF0985

Now onto the most exiting step, lips. I think for this look I would either use my No7 Stay Perfect lipstick in Hot Copper or No7 Moisture Drench lipstick in Soft Tulip. They are both reds, but the Hot Copper is brighter and has a hint of orange and the Soft Tulip is more subtle but equally as lovely.

You could easily take this look from day to night IMO, by simply adding a bolder lip and some eyeliner and shadow, I really think it is so versatile.

What do you think?

NAME

2 responses to “The Daily Face // Summer in the City

    • It’s an amazing book would recommend it to everyone, so good to refer to when you fancy something different! Can’t beat No7, the best in the drug store I feel x

Leave a Reply

