January Favourites 2016

WOW. I actually cannot believe that it is already time for my first 2016 favourites. This month has flown by and I already feel like I need another holiday/ time off. Throughout the month of January I have been using a lot of things to nourish my skin, the weather near me has been horrible. I really hate the winter, pleaaaaaase bring back summer. Anyway, I thought I’d share with you some skincare I’ve been reallllly loving, but also some make-up that I’ve been experimenting with too!

DSC00146

The first thing I’ve been wanting to share, but been saving for a moment like this and truly giving it a good test (over about 2/3 months now) is the Sanctuary Secret Therapist’s Facial Oil.I have been using this every night, after my night time routine of cleansing and moisturising; usually just before I go to bed. I’ve been using it before I go to bed because then I feel like it can work its magic while I’m not active, but also because I really love the smell and it helps me to wind down. I can’t quite describe it but it smells as if it’s good for me; if that makes sense? Occasionally when I’ve needed some extra nourishment I’ve mixed it with my Sukin Moisturiser and worn it during the day, I find it makes my skin glow – and not in a greasy way like you may think with it being an oil. It has really helped my skin battle against the bitterly cold weather with ingredients such as ‘rosehip, sunflower, jojoba, wheatgerm, frankincense & rose’– all skin loving ingredients and all natural! Though it’s one of the pricier skincare items I have, I’ve been using it daily for over two months and I’ve barely dented it, I use four drops at night for a really pampered feel but less during the day if I decide to use it. If you know any great facial oils, let me know I am dying to try some others.DSC00157.JPG

My second favourite is also a Sanctuary product and it’s the 5 Minute Thermal Detox Mask. I saw this on a YouTube video colab with Lilly Pebbles and Amelia Liana, Amelia said she used it and could see the badness in her skin because the clay pulls the impurities out. That pretty much sold me straight away to be honest, it might be gross but I (and I think you secretly will too) love to see the grime come out of my skin and then notice the benefits as well. I use this mask roughly about twice a week whilst doing my evening routine. I’ve been using it about two months (the same as the oil) and I’ve been noticing less impurities in my skin and even less blemishes and spots appearing. Another bonus is that it doesn’t dry my skin out either, which a lot of masks that cleanse impurities do. All around win win product and at £10 it really is a steal as I’ve been using it often and there is still plenty left!

DSC00149.JPG

Now, enough of skincare as I could go on forever about it (gotta look after that skin ladies and gents!!). I’ve been an absolute lipstick nightmare, I’ve bought sooooo many in such a short space of time; BUT I CAN’T AND I WON’T STOP!!!!!! I spent a lot of time on The Body Shop website over Christmas as their sale is always fabulous. I grabbed a few skincare bits (obviously) and then I thought ‘you know what get a lip thing, you’ve been looking at those for ages’… so I did! I got myself the Poppy Lip and Cheek Velvet (my reasoning was I didn’t have to feel bad about getting another lipstick if it was dual purpose lol). The website says… ‘Lip & Cheek Velvet stick adapts to the unique pH of your skin to create your own individual poppy shade.’ It is amazing, I love it. Each time I’ve used it so far it’s looked a bit different which I think is refreshing cos I won’t get bored of it. The tint of it is left on all day as well, BONUS.  

DSC00159DSC00152

Lastly, since around Christmas time I’ve been using this product when I’ve been doing my makeup. The No7 Stay Perfect Shade and Define in Velvet TruffleI’ve had it for agggeeess but thought I’d give it another whirl, and have been really loving it. The shade is a dark brown/khaki green shade, depending on the lighting. I’ve been using it as a smudged liner combined with my old Natural Collection Suntint Bronzing Powder. I couldn’t get away with the bronzer because it was glittery and an orange brown, so I recycled it as an eye-shadow, not to waste anything! Now paired together there is a subtle smudged liner and a warmer brown tint to my lids. This is all part of me trying to find my ‘signature’ make-up look (you’ll understand what I mean I hope). 

DSC0016112626116_10208597218236969_987638221_n

What have been your favourites this month?

NAME

2 responses to “January Favourites 2016

Leave a Reply

